Board of Directors

 

Composition Training and Insurance for Directors
Role and Function Non-executive Directors
Corporate Governance Function Independent Non-executive Directors
Retirement and Re-election of Directors Delegation – Board Committees
Meetings Securities Transactions by Directors and Employees
Relationship    


Composition
The Directors of the Company who served the Board are as follows:
 

Executive Directors
Mr. Lu Wing Chi, Jesse (Chairman)
Mr. Lambert Lu (Chief Executive)

Non-executive Directors
Mr. Lam Sing Tai
Mr. Lincoln Lu 

Independent Non-executive Directors ("INED")
Mr. Walujo Santoso, Wally
Mr. Leung Hok Lim
Mr. Chung Pui Lam


Biographical particulars of the existing Directors are set out in the relevant section of (Management Team) under (About Us) section of this website.
 


Role and Function
The Company is governed by the Board and the Directors are accountable to the shareholders for the activities and performance of the Group. To oversee the Group's business and development, the Board has reserved for its decision and consideration the following matters:

1. adoption and overall oversight of objectives and strategic plans;
2. amendment to memorandum of association and bye-laws as well as alteration of share capital;
3. approval of interim dividends and other distribution and recommendation of final dividends for shareholders' approval;
4. establishment of Board committees and delegation of powers of the Board to the Board committees;
5. appointment, re-appointment, re-designation and removal of Board members;
6. approval of significant accounting policies and practices;
7. oversight of corporate governance, risk management and internal controls; and
8. other significant matters.

Matters other than the above mentioned have been delegated by the Board to the management and the major ones are execution of the Board's decisions (including business strategies and initiatives it has adopted) and daily operations, preparation of annual and interim financial statements for the Board's approval before public reporting, implementation of adequate systems of internal control and risk management as well as compliance with relevant requirements, rules and regulations.
 


Corporate Governance Function

The Board is also responsible for performing the corporate governance duties including:
 
(i) to develop and review the Company’s policies and practices on corporate governance;
(ii) to review and monitor the training and continuous professional development of Directors and senior management;
(iii) to review and monitor the Company’s policies and practices on compliance with legal and regulatory requirements;
(iv) to develop, review and monitor the code of conduct applicable to employees and Directors; and
(v) to review the Company’s compliance with the Corporate Governance Code and disclosure in the Corporate Governance Report.

 


Retirement and Re-election of Directors
Pursuant to the Company's Bye-laws and the Corporate Governance Code , every Director shall retire from office no later than the third annual general meeting after he was last elected or re-elected. Further, any Director appointed by the Board as an additional Board member or to fill a casual vacancy shall hold office only until the next general meeting of the Company and shall then be eligible for re-election.

For an INED who has served the Company for more than nine years, his further appointment will be subject to a separate resolution to be approved by the shareholders. The papers to the shareholders accompanying that resolution will include the reasons why the Board believes he is still independent and should be re-elected. 


Meetings
The Board conducts meetings on a regular basis with at least 14 days' notice and on an ad hoc basis with reasonable notice that are required for significant and important issues. Before each Board and committee meetings, relevant agendas and documents with appropriate information are sent to Directors who are consulted for including matters in the agendas. The Board has four scheduled meetings a year to, amongst other matters, approve the final results and interim results respectively and consider financial and operating performances of the Company. All businesses transacted at the Board meetings are well-documented and the records are maintained properly. The Board members are provided with appropriate and sufficient information in a timely manner to keep abreast of the Group's latest developments.
 


Relationship
Of the Directors, Mr. Lu Wing Chi, Jesse is the father of Messrs. Lincoln Lu and Lambert Lu. Other than these, there is no financial, business, family and other material relationship among other members of the Board.

Notwithstanding the above relationships, there has been an effective and balanced board collectively responsible for the Company's activities and affairs. Almost half of the Board members of the Company are Executive Directors and more than half are Non-executive Directors (including INED) whose views carry significant weight in the Board's decisions. The Board members have been free to discuss issues properly put to the Board meetings and express their views and concerns. No individual or small group can dominate the Board's decision-making process.
 


Training and Insurance for Directors 
Directors are provided with timely updates on changes in laws and compliance issues relevant to the Group. The Company also encourages its Directors to enroll in relevant professional development courses to continually update and further improve their relevant knowledge and skills. In-house training sessions will be organised by the Company as part of the continuous professional development for its Directors to update them on the latest developments regarding the Listing Rules and applicable regulatory requirements in discharging their duties.
 


Non-executive Directors
The Non-executive Directors (including INED) of the Company serve the relevant function of bringing independent judgement and valuable guidance and advice on the development, performance and risk management of the Group.
 


Independent Non-executive Directors
The Board consists of a total of seven Directors, comprising two Executive Directors, two Non-executive Directors and three INED. More than one-third of the Board are INED of which at least an INED possessing appropriate professional qualifications or accounting or related financial management expertise.

The three INED come from diverse business and professional backgrounds in the fields of international trading, accounting and laws, rendering valuable expertise and experience to promote the best interests of the Company and its shareholders as a whole and ensuring that issues are considered in an independent and a more objective manner. All of them serve on the Audit and Remuneration Committees of the Company and two of them serve on the Nomination Committee of the Company.
 


Delegation – Board Committees
The Board has properly delegated its powers and established several Board committees, namely Audit Committee, Nomination Committee, Remuneration Committee and Executive Committee, with specific written terms of reference that deal clearly with their authority and duties, to oversee particular aspects of the Company's affairs and assist in the execution of the Board's responsibilities.


 


Securities Transactions by Directors and Employees
The Company has adopted the Model Code for Securities Transactions by Directors of Listed Issuers (the "Model Code") set out in Appendix 10 to the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited as its own code of conduct regarding securities transactions by the Directors of the Company. 

The Company has also adopted a code with no less exacting terms than the Model Code for the directors and employees of the Group (other than the Directors of the Company) (the "Relevant Employees") to regulate their dealings in the listed shares of the Company, as the Relevant Employees are likely to be in possession of inside information in relation to such shares because of their office or employment.

董事會

 

組成 為董事提供之培訓及保險
角色及職能 非執行董事
企業管治職能 獨立非執行董事
退任及重選董事 授權 – 董事委員會
會議 董事及僱員進行之證券交易
關係    


組成
本公司就任於董事會之董事如下:
 

執行董事
呂榮梓先生(主席)
呂聯樸先生(總裁)

非執行董事
林成泰先生
呂聯勤先生 

獨立非執行董事
顏以福先生
梁學濂先生
鍾沛林先生


現任董事之履歷詳情載於本網站《關於我們》一欄內的《領導團隊》之相關章節。
 


角色及職能
本公司由董事會監管,而董事須就本集團之業務及業績表現向股東負責。為監督本集團之業務及發展,董事會保留對下列事項之決定及考慮:

1. 採納及全面監督推行目標及策略性計劃;
2. 修訂公司組織章程大綱及細則,以及更改股本;
3. 批准派發中期股息及其他分派以及向股東建議批准派發末期股息;
4. 成立董事委員會及向董事委員會授予董事會之權力;
5. 委任、重新委任、調任及罷免董事會成員;
6. 批准主要會計政策及常規;
7. 監督企業管治、風險管理及內部監控事宜;及
8. 其他重要事宜。

董事會已授權管理層處理上述各項以外之其他事宜,主要事宜包括執行董事會之決策(包括董事會所採納之業務策略及方針)及日常運作;編製年度及中期財務報表,待董事會批准後發佈;實施周全之內部監控制度及風險管理;以及遵守有關規定、規則及法規。
 


企業管治職能
董事會亦負責執行企業管治之職責,包括: 

(i) 制定及檢討本公司之企業管治政策及常規;
(ii) 檢討及監察董事及高級管理層之培訓及持續專業發展; 
(iii) 檢討及監察本公司在遵守法律及監管規定方面的政策及常規; 
(iv) 制定、檢討及監察適用於僱員及董事之行為守則;及 
(v) 檢討本公司遵守企業管治守則的情況及在企業管治報告內的披露。 
 


退任及重選董事
根據本公司之公司細則及企業管治守則,每名董事須於上次獲選或重選後不遲於第三屆股東週年大會上退任。此外,所有董事會委任為額外董事會成員或填補空缺之董事須在該委任隨後舉行之本公司股東大會上告退,惟可膺選連任。

若獨立非執行董事於本公司在任超過九年,其續任須以獨立決議案方式由股東通過,方可作實。隨附該決議案一併向股東發出之文件將載有董事會認為彼仍屬獨立人士並應獲重選連任之原因。
 


會議
董事會定期舉行會議及給予至少14日通知,並在有合理通知之情況下按重大及重要事宜之需要舉行特別會議。每次董事會及委員會會議舉行前,載有適當資料之相關議程及文件會寄發予董事,諮詢彼等是否有事項需要列入議程內。董事會於年內舉行了四次董事會會議,分別批准(其中包括)全年業績及中期業績,省覽本公司之財務及營運表現。所有於董事會會議上處理之事項均有詳細之文件記錄,而有關記錄亦妥為保存。董事會成員適時獲得適當及充分之資料,得以緊貼本集團之最新發展。
 


關係
在董事當中,呂榮梓先生為呂聯勤先生及呂聯樸先生之父親。除此之外,董事會其他成員之間概無任何財務、業務、家族及其他重要關係。

儘管存在上述關係,董事會維持高效率及平衡之架構,並集體負責本公司之業務及事務。本公司近逾半數為非執行董事(包括獨立非執行董事),其意見對董事會之決定有重大影響力。董事會成員可自由討論於董事會會議上適當提出之事宜,並表達其意見及關注。概無個別人士或小組可主導董事會之決策過程。

為董事提供之培訓及保險
董事能適時獲得與本集團有關之法律及合規事宜變動之最新消息。本公司亦鼓勵董事參加相關之專業發展課程,以持續提升及進一步加強相關知識及技能。本公司舉辦內部培訓課程,作為董事持續專業發展之一部份,向彼等提供履行職責時所需有關上市規則及適用監管規定之最新發展。
 


非執行董事
本公司非執行董事(包括獨立非執行董事)肩負相關職能以為本集團之發展、表現及風險管理提供獨立判斷、寶貴指引及意見。
 


獨立非執行董事
董事會由七名董事組成,包括兩名執行董事、兩名非執行董事及三名獨立非執行董事。董事會有超過三分之一成員為獨立非執行董事,其中至少一名獨立非執行董事擁有適當專業資格或會計或相關財務管理專業知識。

三名獨立非執行董事擁有不同之業務及專業背景,包括國際貿易、會計及法律,可按彼等專門知識及經驗提供寶貴意見,以促進本公司及其股東之整體最佳利益,並確保可以獨立及較客觀之角度考慮。上述三名獨立非執行董事均為本公司審核委員會及薪酬委員會成員,其中兩名亦為本公司提名委員會成員。
 


授權 – 董事委員會
董事會已適當地授出權力並成立若干董事委員會,包括審核委員會、提名委員會、薪酬委員會及執行委員會,並明文規定其職權範圍,及清晰列明該等委員會之職權及職責,以監督本公司特定方面之事務,並協助執行董事會之職責。


 


董事及僱員進行之證券交易
本公司經已採納香港聯合交易所有限公司證券上市規則附錄十所載之上市發行人董事進行證券交易的標準守則(以下簡稱「標準守則」),作為本公司董事進行證券交易之行為守則。 

本公司亦已為本集團之董事及僱員(本公司之董事除外)(以下簡稱「相關僱員」)採納條款標準不遜於標準守則之準則,以規管彼等買賣本公司之上市股份之事宜,此乃由於相關僱員因其職位或受僱情況而可能擁有有關該等股份之內幕消息。